Smoothies: Not actually smooth? Discuss.

Here’s a quick one. I “like” a bunch of healthy living pages on Facebook, and they all seem to be totally in love with smoothies. (And yoga, which is another thing I don’t get, but that’s another post.) Sure, I guess whirring up a smoothie is a way to get a whole bunch of produce and nutrients ticked off your daily list in a hurry, and who doesn’t love the idea of a Slurpee for breakfast? (Well, I don’t, for one, so I guess that’s not as rhetorical as I meant it to be.)

The problem with these drinks with the comforting name is that they make for a decidedly rough morning. I consider myself a morning person, but that doesn’t mean I’m OK starting off my day listening to the deafening, grinding roar of fruit, veggies, and ice suffering a violent pulverization. Besides, I don’t know if it’s just me and my lower-end blender, but it seems like there are always a few un-smooth chunks left in the concoction no matter how much of a punishing I give it. Ear-splitting noise and surprise chunks in one’s drink do not make for a serene wake-up time.

Still, when done well, smoothies are delicious and can be healthy. I would just much rather prefer to get my vitamins by peeling an orange or slicing up a couple of kiwifruit. I guess I might have an occasional smoothie for breakfast if I had someone to make me one–in a separate wing of the house.

One thought on “Smoothies: Not actually smooth? Discuss.

  1. Pingback: Monday morning surprise « Following Myself

Leave a Reply

