I Am So Going to Read That…Maybe

This is how technologically inept I am: I’ve been trying to upload a short video from my phone of this guy:

and this gal:

Dee Dee

…roughhousing together in our living room, but I can’t get it to work for the life of me. It’s just absolutely adorable, too. At least to me it is. Probably to no one else, though….which is my point in this post. The video was going to be my oh-so-clever way of illustrating it.

Since I started blogging, I’ve been checking out the Freshly Pressed blogs on WordPress and have ended up “following” a few of them, which means I get notifications whenever there are new posts on those blogs. The problem is I’m finding I rarely get around to actually reading them, even when they look interesting. I always intend to go back and read, but then life gets in the way and I rarely do so. Like watching a video of someone else’s dogs (however cute), those blog posts by people I don’t know from Adam just aren’t high on my to-do list.

I haven’t written much in several days–a week, maybe?–and although I’ve gathered up a nice little list of topics for when inspiration hits, I’m now struggling with existential questions. If I’m too busy/lazy/preoccupied to read other people’s fine examples of bloggery, then of course my own rookie ramblings are similarly near the bottom of others’ priority lists. I mean, The Bloggess, for Pete’s sake! Has anyone read that? She is insane, and insanely funny, and I still put off reading her! Why the hell would anyone read me when there’s that out there? If I write and no one reads it, does it count? What’s the point of doing this, anyway?

(Damn, I shouldn’t have mentioned The Bloggess, because now those few of you who are kind and encouraging enough to read and comment on my blog will probably check it out, and then you’ll have to bump me off your reading list.)

I guess it does count, because I’ve got to start somewhere. Granted, I should have started around 25-30 years ago, when I knew I was good at writing and before I let everybody confuse me into doing pretty much nothing that I really wanted to do. But I’m starting now, in middle age, because there’s still time, and I’ve always liked that saying, “You’re never too old to be what you might have been.” I don’t know who said that. I’ll look it up right after I read all those blog posts….

Anyway, to those people who are reading and commenting on my posts (most of whom I do know from Adam, but some of whom I don’t), I truly, madly, deeply appreciate your time.

7 thoughts on “I Am So Going to Read That…Maybe

  1. For the record, I “follow” quite a few blogs, mostly about food and health. I can honestly say, I look forward to yours the most and read it as soon as I see it posted…the others…well lets just say I read the title and decide if it is really something I am willing to spend 10 minutes of my precious time reading(and by precious I mean do I do the dishes, check my facebook or read this?)!!!

  2. always read your blogs. but you have to admit that i have more time than most of your followers. each topic is interesting. keep blogging. you write very well.

  3. I do read the The Bloggess and I enjoy reading your blog just as much. I look forward to reading more so keep it up! I always do my blog reading on Saturday mornings its kinda like my morning news but much more intertaining 🙂

  4. Simply a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw outstanding style and design. “Better by far you should forget and smile than that you should remember and be sad.” by Christina Georgina Rossetti.

Leave a Reply

