Small Talk 07-31-2012: Facebook, Tahoe, Produce Thievery, and other Horsesh*t

Just a string of unrelated things…

I smarted off on Facebook this morning–nothing serious, but I think I may have pissed someone off because the comment string was promptly deleted. I thought about apologizing, but screw it. I didn’t do anything wrong. I don’t have to explain myself. In retrospect, though, I think maybe whenever I say something even the least bit wry, sarcastic, or acid-tongued, I should follow it up with a nice, passive-aggressive one of these to soften the blow:  🙂

Speaking of that, my love affair with Facebook is quickly developing the characteristics of a long-term, somewhat contentious marriage. I stay with it for the convenience and the lifestyle to which I’ve become accustomed, but familiarity is starting to breed contempt. I’m starting to know its habits and be able to finish its sentences a little too often. I’m starting to hate the things I once found cute and endearing about it. But if I leave it, I’ll be out on my own, isolated from the society we were once part of as a couple, so I stay.

….

We didn’t put a garden in this summer, but it hasn’t seemed to matter much. We’ve had a steady stream of tomatoes, red and yellow onions, cucumbers, red potatoes, peppers, zucchini, and even melons coming in from our parents. Thanks, you guys! Last night’s pasta with garden veggies was delish.

Also,  today for lunch we had some of the watermelon that some elves left at our front door while we were gone over the weekend. I always forget how much I love that juicy, rosy flesh. 🙂 It turns out it belonged to the kids, though, who had left it on the porch temporarily. So, technically, I guess we stole it!

….

Brad surprised me with an overnight trip to Lake Tahoe over the weekend. Surprisingly, being a lifelong Northern California resident, I had only been there once, and that was when I was, like, twelve, to attend my uncle’s first wedding. All I remember was that it was getting dark and the lake lurked beside us in the night as we drove along its shores to wherever the ceremony was taking place. Well, let me tell you, this time I got a much better eyeful of that gorgeous body of H2O. Now I understand why there were approximately 1.247 kajillion human beings frolicking along its edges, not to mention floating down the nearby Truckee River like these folks:

 

I noticed you don’t see a lot of fat people lumbering around the lake. It reminded me of how I always dream of being one of those muscular people who hike and bike and paddle and actually relish the feeling of movement and physical exertion. I could tell most of the lake visitors were of that ilk because of all the Subaru 4WDs they had parked all over the place. If I’d looked closer I probably would have seen a lot of Life is Good hats and T-shirts. Anyway, I’d start acting like one of those people right now, but jeez, it’s hot outside down here in the crispy-fried North Valley.

….

 

My friend Brenda (whom I initially got to know through the very same Facebook I’m now annoyed with, before it became annoying) says that’s why they call  California The Golden State–because for half the year it’s mostly burnt to a golden crisp. Sounds right to me! I mean, look at the field behind my dad’s house. Apparently he’s planted a crop of horse seeds out there, but it doesn’t look to me like he’s gonna get any horses to grow out of that scorched earth. Heh heh heh….

 

….

I feel a little ashamed of myself for not doing the work necessary to put together a real blog post with an actual point, or at least a good story. I just checked the list I keep on my phone’s memo pad app (“BLOG IDEAS”) and there are tons of good writing prompts on there. Maybe I’ll get to that soon, but for now, just consider the lazy, disjointed, stream-of-consciousness nature of this post as a mirror of how I’ve been conducting my daily life lately. Hey, it’s summertime.

Leave a Reply

