Going Cold Tofurky

September 1 is this Saturday. I LOVE September, mainly because it means the relentless scorching hell that is August is finally over. Like a lot of people, I always want to make a fresh start when the “-ember” months arrive. The heat fatigue starts to lift and there’s an exhilarating crispness in each morning that invites hope and inspiration. Hallelujah.

I’m inspired to be better, to do better. I’m inspired to get back into the spirit of why I started this blog in the first place. Lately I’ve been a lazy, gluttonous slug without any principles. My weight hasn’t changed, but I’m sure that’s only because my muscular density has been wasting away while I simultaneously gain blubbery circumference while sitting on my butt eating pizza and ice cream. I’m sure that while this is going on, my brain is turning to mush just like the rest of my body, because I grow more dopey, sleepy, and grumpy as the days roll by. I don’t have a lot of real challenges in my life, so I need to see what I’m made of.

I’ve decided it’s time to recommit to my quest for better health, and I need to do so drastically. Enough messing around. I just got the last 90-day refill of my antihypertensive meds, and then I’ll have to see my doctor again. This fills me with dread, because another lecture about my weight is not something I want from anyone but me, so my goal is to spend the next 3 months working to get my weight, blood pressure, and all those other indicators of health down to where I can go back to my doctor proudly and hopefully not need a new prescription.

No more dabbling, dammit! This is for real. I’m going herbivore for 3 months. I want to see if I can really do it. I don’t even care if I run into new vegan and longtime opinionated celebrity Rosie O’Donnell along the way. If she pisses me off, I’ll just bash her one with my economy-sized bottle of B12.

10 thoughts on “Going Cold Tofurky

  1. When you go vegan, try to eat as much raw food as possible. You will lose weight in no time. Stay away from all the highly processed foods (which includes mock meat). Buy a juicer if you don’t have one yet. It’ll make it much easier to get all the nutrients you need. Nobody wants to chew salad for hours on end. I hope you’ll have an amazing experience!

    • Thanks so much for the advice! Fake meats don’t inspire much enthusiasm in me, fortunately, but I just finished “Main Street Vegan,” by Victoria Moran which was really practical and made me feel like I could do this. She got me pretty interested in the juicing thing. Thanks again for your encouraging words.

  2. Good for you. It’s strange how so many think of September as the time for new beginnings.
    My blood pressure was very high in spite of my athletic lifestyle. I became vegetarian and completely cut out ALL salt. Now my bp is in the low normal range. My best to you!

  3. Greate pieces. Keep writing such kind of information on your blog.

    Im really impressed by it.
    Hey there, You’ve done an excellent job. I’ll certainly digg it
    and individually recommend to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited
    from this web site.

Leave a Reply

