Insomnia 083012

Sleep is good. I’ve never been one of those people who loves to brag about how they’ll sleep when they’re dead, because they’re so busy being extreme and badass and crazy and eating life in big, giant bites that normal people just can’t handle. I like sleeping. It feels so good. I like it much better than I like valiantly staying awake in order to be more awesome than everybody else. I’d like to be sleeping right now, in fact, at 2:55 a.m. on a Thursday morning.

But, thanks to several factors, some of which are my own fault and some of which just are, I’m sitting here awake, taking the risk of writing a blog post in such a state, which we all know can lead to multiple paragraphs of whining and complaining and lamenting. Oh, look, here come a couple right now!

My back aches. Upper back–go figure. Usually you hear about low back pain, but every once in a while I get some serious tightness right up between the shoulders. I’m familiar with the triggers. In the past couple of days I’ve driven our old Tahoe, which has seats and a cockpit apparently designed for Sasquatch instead of a 5-foot-3-inch woman. I’ve been “blessed” with lots of transcription work to do lately, so there have been a lot more hours spent sitting right here, typing for long stretches at speeds that would make Johann Sebastian Bach want to tear up his finger-torching Inventions and toss them in the wastebasket. The other night I sat for hours in a wooden chair at a live music event, having a fine time but, as usual, not truly relaxing in public. And anyone who’s been reading my Facebook updates can tell you I’ve been in a slump, attitude-wise, which always leads to holding a lot of tension right there where it hurts.

So when one of the dogs woke me up a little while ago, as well as waking up Brad, who promptly performed the reflexive male act of flipping on the TV, flooding our bedroom with the warm glow and maddening yammer of partisan politics, I found myself ultra-conscious of said backache and finally just got up, popped an Aleve because we’re out of my faster-acting friend ibuprofen, and came in here with the intention of lulling myself back to sleepworthiness via the internet.

I read a few posts on blogs I follow, perused the latest Facebook offerings (not a lot at this time of night), checked out some old costume-jewelry earrings that had just been put up for sale on Etsy (just like some I have of my great-grandma’s, cheap rhinestone clip-ons, and for fifty-five bucks!), and considered, but thought better of, diving into the sea of Pinterest imagery….

….and this all seems to be doing the trick, so I’m going back to bed.

2 thoughts on “Insomnia 083012

  1. This sounds like my life in so many ways. Thanks to my increased workload and time at my computer, I type this as I sit with my favorite new ice pack around my shoulders and neck (designed like a horseshoe). My neck and shoulder muscles have been a mess for a week or so. Ice does wonders as well as deep tissue massage for neck and shoulders. good luck 🙂

  2. I love sleep! I love naps! That’s what I posted about today–how sleep got me through a betrayal.

Leave a Reply

