Debriefing on Vegging Out, Day 1

I’m not sure how often I’ll be doing food confessions. Probably not all the time because I’d like to keep some readers if I can. However, since this was the big kickoff, here’s the rundown on what I lived on today:

This morning I had coffee with TJ’s soy creamer and sugar, then some whole-wheat toast spread with avocado and a little salt and pepper, along with a few raspberries I needed to consume before they became wastoids.

Then I headed out on my foraging expedition, where I had a sample B12 tablet and then forgot to eat until I was at my mom’s place, where I realized my tummy was growling. I had an apple and some juice cut with water to tide me over. When I got home I made a BIG green salad with assorted veggies, and a few walnuts and some garbanzos (aka chickpeas) thrown in for protein and sustenance. This left me wanting something sweet, so I had a little hunk of dark chocolate broken off the accidentally-melted-together bag of dark chocolate chips I had in the freezer.

I sipped on seltzer water with lime until around five-ish, when Brad said, “I’m gettin’ kinda hungry,” and I realized that I, too, was gettin’ kinda hungry–ravenous, in fact. I grabbed a bunch of grapes while Brad grilled salmon for himself and corn for both of us. I cut my corn off the cob and mixed it up in a corn-and-bean salad with some leftover fajita veggies, onion, garlic, cumin, olive oil, and Tapatio sauce, which I ate with some home-baked corn chips and a glob of Tofutti fake sour cream, which, it turns out, is going to be a godsend, because sometimes you just need that creamy, dairy-like feel.

Oh, yeah, by the way….before anyone starts analyzing the nutritional, chemical, environmental, and/or political ramifications of any of my food choices, I’d like to make it clear that I’m not trying to please you. I’m trying to please me. What pleases me is not having to agonize over every single food choice I make, so if something I ate today turns out to be owned by a subsidiary of some evil, rainforest-destroying, cancer-giving, indigenous-people-screwing megacorporation, well, I’m sorry. I did my best….

….and in case you were wondering, I feel better already!

 

2 thoughts on “Debriefing on Vegging Out, Day 1

  1. Are you going vegetarian or vegan….or maybe a combination of the two? No judgments at all. I just noticed that you are eliminating dairy. I love hearing about other peoples trial and errors with different ways of eating. I like that you are sharing your journey. I think the next time I do a sugar detox I am going to write about it on facebook. It is such an amazing thing to put your body through..but so well worth it. Oh…and I love tofutti…I don’t eat it anymore…..but what a great alternative for vegans. I do buy it when Katelyn comes home for a visit. Keep sharing your journey. I love it!!

    • I decided to try vegan for 3 months. Kinda sucks because there are still a bunch of those awesome eggs in the fridge! Brad likes them, though. I’ve been so intrigued by the idea for so long that I just have to give it a shot. People in my family die from cardiovascular problems and I also have to admit I was impressed by Bill Clinton going vegan a while back. Don’t know if he still is but he still seems pretty slim and spry!…I should add that I’m not overly strict in my veganism, though, like, for instance, I know they bleach white sugar using animal bones or something like that, but hey, I went ahead and put some in my coffee this morning anyway.

Leave a Reply

