Thoughts While Listening To The Doctor I’m Transcribing Deliberate Over Takeout Food

Dr. Beautiful Indian Accent Lady has left her dictation recorder running during lunch, and they’re all trying to sort out who ordered what. Whatever they’re eating in that office, it sounds Mexican and delicious. Good thing I’ve already had my lunch or I’d be running out to get myself a big, fat burrito, although I guarantee it wouldn’t have as many picky specifications as these people are trying to sort out in the process of distributing each order to its proper consumer. At any rate, I hope she gets it all fully chewed and swallowed before starting to dictate any more reports. Because sometimes she doesn’t.

Myself, I had a bowl of spaghetti with sauteed veggies, and I have a confession to make. Sitting there enjoying my lunch in front of the TV while watching Giada De Laurentiis whipping up some decadent fare that obviously goes straight to her enviable boobs and nowhere else, I might have done a little Lady and the Tramp thing with my dog EJ.

Yep, pretty pathetic. Don’t tell the other dogs, or my husband. They’ll shake their little heads in disgust. I can’t help it, though. I mean, look at him. Here he is kicking back, which is one of the two or three things he does besides begging.

EJ At Rest

He’s so cute, and so intrigued by those weird piles of string I keep eating. I have to give him one once in a while, although this was first time I tried doing it mouth-to-mouth. I hope he knows he’s not getting any farther than that with me, though, in terms of bases. We do sleep together, but only in the strictly literal sense.

….

So, uh, I got an email two days ago telling me congrats and that I was going to be Freshly Pressed, which means I was chosen for the page of featured blog posts on WordPress. They said my post would be appearing there “in the next day or two,” but it’s been over 48 hours and my post is not there yet. I’m beginning to wonder if they were just messing with me. This is what I get for mentioning it to my friends on Facebook. Still holding out hope, though, that this is going to be a reality. I like some validation once in a while…or, preferably, as often as possible.

….

Unfortunately, Dr. Mexican-Food-Loving Beautiful Indian Accent Lady finished lunch a long time ago and I’ve been back to transcribing for quite a while now. Hence, this blog post has fallen into neglect. Such is the nature of my blogging career so far. Don’t tell the Freshly Pressed editors, though. If they really are going to put me on their page, I don’t want to give them any reason to change their minds by suggesting that I half-assedly rattle off blog posts in between medical reports or anything.

4 thoughts on “Thoughts While Listening To The Doctor I’m Transcribing Deliberate Over Takeout Food

  1. You are not alone, my friend does the noodle thing with her rabbit. Admittedly she rarely has a choice in the matter, that rabbit is fast.

Leave a Reply

